My Observation Data Spreadsheet

I have been working on and “evolving” a excel sheet for almost 3 years now, and what better place to share then the forums. Maybe if any of you are interested i could pass the file and you could use to track your observations. But be warned I’ve spent so many hours fiddling with formulas changing things updating the data constantly. Its quite a bit of work but none the less this is my data as of 5/14/2020. Hopefully somebody will find it interesting.

Release 1 OUTDATED but here if you want
https://www.mediafire.com/file/d3q06ykpqslroou/Observations_Release_1.xlsx/file

Release 2 (updated)
https://www.mediafire.com/file/fwa2wpsgb1h96cs/Observations_Release_2.xlsx/file

10 Likes

Here is as the title suggests My average obs a month, colored sort of by tempeture. Notice large gaps when i take breaks.

2 Likes

Here is observations. For the months i added medals Gold Silver and Bronze for the top 3 months.

3 Likes

Hear are three graphs, one showing the total observations I’ve made for each month on a pie chart, the second is my observations per year, with the estiment for this years new obs I’ve made, and the 3rd one i keep close eye on because it shows the “difficulty” to find new species. Since species are finite and i can only photo so many different species in my yard etc, it takes more and more observations to find new species.

3 Likes

Hear are the total number of different identifiers of my observations, and a graph with the number of observation per month by year.

This shows Species, Difficulty in finding new species, and the amount of work put into observing by month and year, also with average US temperature and the averages, totals, etc. These 3 and the other one i use very often.

2 Likes

Right is species, left is observations.

1 Like

Another view plus the raw data in the middle.

2 Likes