Enter GPS coordinates in apps

I keep an amateur insect collection and sometimes I use iNaturalist to help me identify tricky specimens. The easiest way for me to do this is by taking pictures with my smartphone through a microscope and adding them to an observation. INaturalist then pulls the incorrect GPS coordinates from my photo of the pinned specimen and there is no option for me to manually enter the correct GPS coordinates. I have to approximate the location by moving the pin on a map. I realize that I could send the photos to a computer and then use the iNaturalist website which does have a GPS field, but if this field were in the app too it would greatly simplify things.

In decimal degrees?

1 Like

Yes, I think that would be the most convenient format.

2 Likes

Hello there! I too would like to request a manual option for entering location. I’m a Botanical Illustrator and love using iNaturalist app during my research phase! I work a lot in the field and strive to identify what I’m observing, so I can make an accurate note in my field journal. Because I do work a lot in the field, I’m not always able to upload information in real time, sometimes it’s a timing issue other times it’s because of no cellular service. I would like to submit a feature for the app, perhaps to be considered for future updates. Would it be possible to enter the coordinates and or address of where the observation originally took place without having to pan the map by hand? Right now, the only way to easily enter a location is to ensure data connection is strong and click, find my location but it isn’t one hundred percent accurate. A tweak is often needed. The only way to do so is by selecting the map and panning it, as best as one can, until relocating the observational site. This is extremely time consuming and often impossible because it’s difficult to retrace where you were on the map. An easier, more accurate way would be to simply enter in the address and submit! Right now, whe