Create personal challenges and trophy/badge system to make iNaturalist appeal to general audience

I’m relatively new to using inaturalist. I’ve had it installed for at least a year and I only just started adding observations yesterday.

I think it would be really cool if inaturalist had a system of badges or trophies that could be acquired by completing challenges of varying difficulty, such as “submit observations of 10 different bird species.” or limited time challenges like “observe over 1000 species in 2019.” The badges/trophies could be collected and displayed on ones profile with a little icon/piece of art and a description of what the reward was for.

As a biologist and proponent of conservation, I think gamifying inaturalist could play a major role in increasing the public awareness of species richness locally and globally.

I will totally admit to spending way too much time trying to get trophies in Fallout: New Vegas, but I’ll just say that many people have suggested gamifying iNaturalist, and it’s not something the iNat team is particularly interested in.

Maybe it’s naive, but we hope people enjoy being outside and documenting wildlife or identifying other’s observations because they find it rewarding in and of itself, and not for extrinsic motivations. So it is unlikely there will ever be badges or trophies on iNat. One reason we made Seek is to allow for a bit more gamification in something akin to iNat, but isn’t directly about contributing to public data.

12 Likes

I agree with Tony here. Other issues with gamifying is falsification of observations and identifications, and likely more bot accounts as well.

4 Likes