Advice for a non-herper?

Hi, I’m new to iNaturalist and am wondering about some of the best practices for reptile/amphibian observations. I’m not really a herper specifically, but I enjoy a good frog when I see one, and I would hate to upload information that could be easily abused. I know iNat automatically obscures location for particularly sensitive species, but I’d like to err on the side of caution. To sum it up:

• How general should a location be?
  • Is it alright to post a public location for an organism of a common and expected species for that area? (i.e. a Common Garter Snake in a grassy suburban field in Oregon)
  • Are different color morphs at higher risk from poachers/collectors? (again, thinking of the Common Garter Snake)
  • Does time factor into the equation at all? (most of my Southern observations are from several years ago)
  • Does the organism’s age factor in at all? (are collectors more likely to go after younger/smaller specimens)

Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me out with this, I’m looking forward to learning some new things

2 Likes

Some snakes are more desirable than others to collectors, such as many kingsnakes and certain rattlesnakes. Gartersnakes probably not so much. Unusual color morphs, as you suggest, can also be desirable. If you feel you might be alerting collectors to a good location for a desirable species that could be targeted, you can always obscure the site location. Not sure time is a factor as a good spot from several years ago could still be good. I don’t think age of the snake makes any difference.

5 Likes

@jnstuart Thank you so much!

I wouldn’t worry about the specific situations that you described much. As long as your observation isn’t a rare/commonly poached species, I think the risk of anything untowards happening is quite low.