Anyone have access to Correll & Johnston's Manual of the Vascular Plants of Texas?

Hi iNaturalists! I’m looking for someone who has or has access to a copy of D.S.Correll & M.C.Johnston’s Manual of the Vascular Plants of Texas. At least the 1970 one, although it’s possible the 1979 version would provide the same information on a species I’m studying, Symphyotrichum eulae, at that time placed in the genus Aster as Aster eulae.

Feel free to reply here or message me through iNat, username elizabeth1067.

Thank you so much in advance for your time. ~Elizabeth

i know where a copy of Correll & Johnston exists and can get access to it, though i’m not sure which version it is, and i probably won’t have time to get to it within the next couple of weeks. whichever version it is, i’m pretty sure it shows things as Aster rather than Symphyotrichum. i’m fairly certain a lot of libraries in Texas will have a copy of it somewhere, too. are you just looking for the Aster eulae description?

Yes at this time I am just interested in the Aster eulae description as well as bibliographic information and any source references that are included in the information about that species in case I want to follow up. Worldcat shows the closest copy to me is probably 2 hours away (I’m in Indiana). There are some copies for sale online, but the ones I’ve seen are expensive.

If it helps, Biodiversity Heritage Library has the full text for another Correll book, Aquatic and Wetland Plants of Southwestern US, and there is at least a good species description of A. eulae there: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/item/22898#page/1644/mode/1up

3 Likes

Thanks for that. Somehow I missed that source.

My BHL searches don’t always pull everything!

I have access to a 1979 manual

Wonderfu! May I send you a message through iNat?