Are Fungi in Lichens Parasitic?

I am studying lichens and the relationship between fungi and algae/cyanobacteria. Most articles say the fungi and algae/cyanobacteria in a lichen mutually benefit each other, living in a symbiotic relationship. The fungi provide shelter and algae provide food/energy.

I came across a few videos and articles that pointed out that the fungi could be considered parasitic because it is too dependent on the algae partner. When separated, the algae can continue to live by providing food itself. The fungi, on the other hand, rely on the algae for their food. Unlike other fungi, “lichenized” fungi can’t feed off decaying organisms and will eventually die when separated form the algae. In this relationship, the fungi benefits more and actually steals nutrients from the algae.

Is this true? Could the relationship between lichenized fungi and algae then be considered a controlled form of parasitism?

1 Like

in parasitism only one of the two parts receive a benefit from the relation, and the other receive a damage
in symbiosis both parts receive a benefit from the relation
in commensalism only one parner receive a benefit, but for the other is indifferent
and exist a shade of grey between these three types

the algae receive a benefit because of the shelter that protect her from the disseccation, and this enlarge their environmental fitness and increase the types of habitats that they can use.

6 Likes

In studies where they’ve separated the algae and fungi usually both (or more, sometimes it’s more than 2 partners), both the fungi and algae are generally able to survive and grow independently without major problems. The fungi have a wildly different growth form when not part of a lichen and are unrecognizable as being a lichen forming fungi by visual observation when they’re grown separately.

Generally the relationship is considered to be one of mutualism, not parasite and host.

8 Likes