Are identical animals in different country's with different names really the same species?

Ok I’ll explain a little better. I’m from the UK and have lived there all my life. I love to go out and photograph wildlife when ever I can and have recently discovered iNaturalist which I am really loving.

Now although I have been observing wildlife in my own country for a long time, I don’t consider myself an expert at all. It occurred to me when glancing through images of wildlife online that there are often pictures of the same animal or flora from different respective country’s that are to my eyes identical. For example the Coal Tit from Europe

And the Black-capped Chickadee from North America

Black Capped Chickadee

Now my Question is this, are they;-

A) The same species with different names.
B) Very closely related but with tiny differences.
C) Misidentifications.

Like I say I’m no expert, just really interested in feedback on the subject.

4 Likes

These two are different species, albeit quite closely related - both are “tits”. In practice, you may find that people call the same species differently in different parts of the world, even in English (obviously in local languages it’s completely different most of the time). Here on iNaturalist, species are considered globally - if there are more common names, they are usually added, so that they link to the same species. You can always check the systematic (latin) name, which is unique.

7 Likes

Thank you opisska for your input but to ask another question how is a new species decided?

1 Like

Well, a new specie is not “decided” once for all: an author describes it and proposes its name in a scientific publication, then it may be accepted or rejected by the peers, depending on how clear the differences from currently accepted species are judged. This may take decades…

5 Likes