British and Irish Vice County Projects

Biological/biodiversity recording of wildlife has been based upon Vice Counties since H.C. Watson first created the boundaries back 1852. Using these boundaries allows for comparative statistics and list forming over the years and prevents difficulties associated with constantly changing modern-day β€˜political’ County boundaries. iNaturalist now has a full set of Projects for all Vice Counties in Britain (England, Wales and Scotland) as well as all the Irish Vice Counties; along with projects for each of the countries making up our islands. These can be found by visiting the links in the list below. Which Vice County do you live and record in ?? If you take photos of wildlife on your days out in the countryside, in your yard or garden, during your travel to work, etc. Then perhaps you may like to consider posting your photos to iNaturalist and seeing how you can add species information to your Vice County list; learn from others identifications, and see the numbers of records for your Vice County grow. Enjoy !!

Urgent Request:
If you live and/or record in a specific Vice County and would like to offer yourself as an additional Admin for that Vice County project then please do get in touch as currently I am the ONLY Admin on all of these Vice Counties and that is not sustainable - effort is minimal to non-existant but they do need other administrators in case I am no longer around.

British Vice-County Projects on iNaturalist:

VC-1 - West Cornwall (with Scilly) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-1-west-cornwall-scilly

VC-2 - East Cornwall - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-2-east-cornwall

VC-3 – South Devon - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-3-south-devon

VC-4 – North Devon - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-4-north-devon

VC-5 – South Somerset - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-5-south-somerset

VC-6 – North Somerset - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-6-north-somerset

VC-7 – North Wiltshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-7-north-wiltshire

VC-8 – South Wiltshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-8-south-wiltshire

VC-9 – Dorset - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-9-dorset

VC-10 – Isle of Wight - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-10-isle-of-wight

VC-11 – South Hampshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-11-south-hampshire

VC-12 – North Hampshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-12-north-hampshire

VC-13 – West Sussex - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-13-west-sussex

VC-14 – East Sussex - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-14-east-sussex

VC-15 – East Kent - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-15-east-kent

VC-16 – West Kent - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-16-west-kent

VC-17 – Surrey - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-17-surrey

VC-18 – South Essex - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-18-south-essex

VC-19 – North Essex - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-19-north-essex

VC-20 – Hertfordshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-20-hertfordshire

VC-21 – Middlesex - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-21-middlesex

VC-22 – Berkshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-22-berkshire

VC-23 – Oxfordshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-23-oxfordshire

VC-24 – Buckinghamshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-24-buckinghamshire

VC-25 – East Suffolk - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-25-east-suffolk

VC-26 – West Suffolk - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-26-west-suffolk

VC-27 – East Norfolk - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-27-east-norfolk

VC-28 – West Norfolk - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-28-west-norfolk

VC-29 – Cambridgeshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-29-cambridgeshire

VC-30 – Bedfordshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-30-bedfordshire

VC-31 – Huntingdonshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-31-huntingdonshire

VC-32 – Northamptonshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-32-northamptonshire

VC-33 – East Gloucestershire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-33-east-gloucestershire

VC-34 – West Gloucestershire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-34-west-gloucestershire

VC-35 – Monmouthshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-35-monmouthshire

VC-36 – Herefordshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-36-herefordshire

VC-37 – Worcestershire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-37-worcestershire

VC-38 – Warwickshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-38-warwickshire

VC-39 – Staffordshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-39-staffordshire

VC-40 – Shropshire (Salop) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-40-shropshire-salop

VC-41 – Glamorgan - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-41-glamorgan

VC-42 – Breconshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-42-breconshire

VC-43 – Radnorshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-43-radnorshire

VC-44 – Carmarthenshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-44-carmarthenshire

VC-45 – Pembrokeshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-45-pembrokeshire

VC-46 – Cardiganshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-46-cardiganshire

VC-47 – Montgomeryshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-47-montgomeryshire

VC-48 – Merionethshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-48-merionethshire

VC-49 – Caernarvonshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-49-caernarvonshire

VC-50 – Denbighshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-50-denbighshire

VC-51 – Flintshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-51-flintshire

VC-52 – Anglesey - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-52-anglesey

VC-53 – South Lincolnshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-53-south-lincolnshire

VC-54 – North Lincolnshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-54-north-lincolnshire

VC-55 – Leicestershire (with Rutland) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-55-leicestershire-with-rutland

VC-56 – Nottinghamshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-56-nottinghamshire

VC-57 – Derbyshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-57-derbyshire

VC-58 – Cheshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-58-cheshire

VC-59 – South Lancashire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-59-south-lancashire

VC-60 – West Lancashire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-60-west-lancashire

VC-61 – South-east Yorkshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-61-south-east-yorkshire

VC-62 – North-east Yorkshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-62-north-east-yorkshire

VC-63 – South West Yorkshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-63-south-west-yorkshire

VC-64 – Mid-west Yorkshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-64-mid-west-yorkshire

VC-65 – North-west Yorkshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-65-north-west-yorkshire

VC-66 – Durham - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-66-durham

VC-67 – South Northumberland - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-67-south-northumberland

VC-68 – North Northumberland (Cheviot) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-68-north-northumberland-cheviot

VC-69 – Westmorland with North Lancashire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-69-westmorland-with-north-lancashire

VC-70 – Cumberland - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-70-cumberland

VC-71 – Isle of Man - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-71-isle-of-man

VC-72 – Dumfriesshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-72-dumfriesshire

VC-73 – Kirkcudbrightshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-73-kirkcudbrightshire

VC-74 – Wigtownshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-74-wigtownshire

VC-75 – Ayrshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-75-ayrshire

VC-76 – Renfrewshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-76-renfrewshire

VC-77 – Lanarkshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-77-lanarkshire

VC-78 – Peeblesshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-78-peeblesshire

VC-79 – Selkirkshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-79-selkirkshire

VC-80 – Roxburghshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-80-roxburghshire

VC-81 – Berwickshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-81-berwickshire

VC-82 – East Lothian (Haddington) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-82-east-lothian-haddington

VC-83 – Midlothian (Edinburgh) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-83-midlothian-edinburgh

VC-84 – West Lothian (Linlithgow) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-84-west-lothian-linlithgow

VC-85 – Fifeshire (with Kinross) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-85-fifeshire-with-kinross

VC-86 – Stirlingshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-86-stirlingshire

VC-87 – West Perthshire (with Clackmannan) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-87-west-perthshire-with-clackmannan

VC-88 – Mid Perthshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-88-mid-perthshire

VC-89 – East Perthshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-89-east-perthshire

VC-90 – Angus (Forfar) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-90-angus-forfar

VC-91 – Kincardineshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-91-kincardineshire

VC-92 – South Aberdeenshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-92-south-aberdeenshire

VC-93 – North Aberdeenshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-93-north-aberdeenshire

VC-94 – Banffshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-94-banffshire

VC-95 – Moray (Elgin) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-95-moray-elgin

VC-96 – East Inverness-shire (with Nairn) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-96-east-inverness-shire-with-nairn

VC-97 – West Inverness-shire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-97-west-inverness-shire

VC-98 – Argyll Main - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-98-argyll-main-argyllshire

VC-99 – Dunbartonshire - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-99-dunbartonshire

VC-100 – Clyde Isles - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-100-clyde-isles

VC-101 – Kintyre - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-101-kintyre

VC-102 – South Ebudes - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-102-south-ebudes

VC-103 – Mid Ebudes - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-103-mid-ebudes

VC-104 – North Ebudes - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-104-north-ebudes

VC-105 – West Ross - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-105-west-ross

VC-106 – East Ross - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-106-east-ross

VC-107 – East Sutherland - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-107-east-sutherland

VC-108 – West Sutherland - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-108-west-sutherland

VC-109 – Caithness - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-109-caithness

VC-110 – Outer Hebrides - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-110-outer-hebrides

VC-111 – Orkney Islands - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-111-orkney-islands

VC-112 – Shetland Islands (Zetland) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-112-shetland-islands-zetland

VC-113 – Channel Isles - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/british-vice-counties-vc-113-channel-isles

Irish Vice Counties:

H1 – South Kerry - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h1-south-kerry

H2 – North Kerry - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h2-north-kerry

H3 – West Cork - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h3-west-cork

H4 – Mid Cork - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h4-mid-cork

H5 – East Cork - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h5-east-cork

H6 – Waterford - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h6-waterford

H7 – South Tipperary - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h7-south-tipperary

H8 – Limerick - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h8-limerick

H9 – Clare - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h9-clare

H10 – North Tipperary - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h10-north-tipperary

H11 – Kilkenny - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h11-kilkenny

H12 – Wexford - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h12-wexford

H13 – Carlow - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h13-carlow

H14 – Leix (Laois) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h14-leix-laois

H15 – South-east Galway - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h15-south-east-galway

H16 – West Galway - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h16-west-galway

H17 – North-east Galway - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h17-north-east-galway

H18 – Offaly - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h18-offaly

H19 – Kildare - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h19-kildare

H20 – Wicklow - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h20-wicklow

H21 – Dublin - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h21-dublin

H22 – Meath - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h22-meath

H23 – West Meath - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h23-west-meath-westmeath

H24 – Longford - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h24-longford

H25 – Roscommon - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h25-roscommon

H26 – East Mayo - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h26-east-mayo

H27 – West Mayo - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h27-west-mayo

H28 – Sligo - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h28-sligo

H29 – Leitrim - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h29-leitrim

H30 – Cavan - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h30-cavan

H31 – Louth - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h31-louth

H32 – Monaghan - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h32-monaghan

H33 – Fermanagh - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h33-fermanagh

H34 – East Donegal - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h34-east-donegal

H35 – West Donegal - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h35-west-donegal

H36 – Tyrone - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h36-tyrone

H37 – Armagh - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-county-vc-h37-armagh

H38 – Down - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h38-down

H39 – Antrim - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h39-antrim

H40 – Londonderry - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-vice-counties-vc-h40-londonderry

Country Projects:

Wildlife of the UK and Ireland - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/wildlife-of-the-uk-and-ireland

English Wildlife (Wildlife of England) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/english-wildlife-wildlife-of-england

Welsh Wildlife (Wildlife of Wales) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/welsh-wildlife-wildlife-of-wales

Scottish Wildlife (Wildlife of Scotland) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/scottish-wildlife-wildlife-of-scotland

Irish Wildlife (Wildlife of Ireland) - https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/irish-wildlife-wildlife-of-ireland

I’m happy to take VC 63, it being my main patch, and if you need someone for the rest of Yorkshire (61-65), I’ll keep an eye on those too.

1 Like

@kitbeard - many thanks indeed.

You need to β€˜join’ each project before I can add you as an Admin so could I ask you to join VC-63 through VC-65 and let me know when you have done so - I will then add you as an Admin for each of them.

Thanks again.

Steve

Great work, thanks for setting it up. I can do VC55 and I’ve joined :+1:

1 Like

I already had joined them - am I showing up now?

Hi @kitbeard, Yes, I have now edited the projects for VC-61 through VC-65 and you are now an Admin on all of them.

Cheers and thanks.
Steve