Butterfly vs. Dragonfly

Several times lately I’ve witnessed limenitis aggressively chasing away libellula in my little meadow by the creek. It’s quite the air to air dogfight! I’m new to photographing and paying attention to these creatures and this behavior surprised me. Are they natural enemies?

3 Likes

Fascinating! I’ve never seen butterflies chase away dragonflies, but I have seen a few dragonflies eating butterflies. I would suppose they are natural enemies.

2 Likes

My guess (no concrete evidence for this) is that maybe they are males patrolling their territories for any passing females? So anything that gets in their way of possible success (another male of the same species, other butterflies, maybe even other insects) will be subsequently chased away? I believe butterflies have acute eyesight and so are able to spot the difference between potential mate vs “enemy”.

I have related anecdotal “evidence”, only except the one being chased was me. I was once in a place where a few hilltopping butterflies were, and a good few times when I am in their space, they would “divebomb” towards me, as if in attempt to chase me away.

6 Likes

Earlier this week I watched a white admiral butterfly as it seemed to “swoop and circle” birds at the feeder, until they left and it landed. It seemed deliberate and purposeful. The behaviour seemed unusual, like a chipmunk chasing a cat.

5 Likes

That’s interesting because I’m certain I was also attacked by viceroy’s once or twice. Similar to being flogged by a chicken. Perhaps ‘love’ is in the air at this time of year and ‘emotions’ are running high. Maybe it was my orange shirt? Who knows, right?

1 Like

Makes me recall seeing crows attack a redtail hawk. Hawk can easily dispatch the harasser but they don’t. Same with other little birds defending their nesting area including dogs, cats and people. Just never expected to see that behavior with butterflies.

1 Like