Description of a new species: a method (or just I need help!)

Hi lovely community, and I’m here to find some guidance! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:
I really need to know how is the process of describing a new species. Does anyone have experience on the subject? please, help me.
To make a long story short, last year I found what appears to be a undescribed gastropod, which after a review of Chilean species, does not match any described so far, nor invasive species.
Now I’m unemployed, and I think I have the time to conduct a mission like this one. and I have few clues how to do it, is there any recommendation? is there any book which I could follow? a guide? Of course there is no fund or money, so this would be a low-cost process. LOL
I’ve heard of people doing species descriptions in their master’s courses, but I don’t think it’s in my interests to “terrestrialize” myself in a master program focusing in a terrestrial gastropod, since I’m a marine biologist, and need to focus back to the ocean.
just that, and I can´t not to do it, is my New Year’s resolution :)

6 Likes

How many specimens have you found/collected? Just the one? Typically, especially with invertebrates, it is best to have a number of individuals in order to appreciate natural variation and better describe the species (especially having a male + female).

I don’t know what the process is with gastropods, but I’ve described a few mirid (true bug) species and we had to have males (with male genitalia being very important).

You’ll also need to ‘fit’ it into the tree of life and understand where it fits compared to other gastropods, e.g. is it just a new species? New genus? Which family does it belong to?

4 Likes

There is a book Describing Species by Judith Winston, 1999. Probably out of print since what I see on Amazon is $50-60 US.

4 Likes