Experiences and Trajectories with iNaturalist

Hi everyone! I’m relatively new to iNaturalist so hope that this is an okay use of the Discussion Forum. I’m a first year PhD student in the Teaching, Learning, and Diversity program at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. For a class focused on designing and studying information environments for learning, I’m looking at the iNaturalist community—how people interact with iNaturalist and other iNaturalist users, and how people learn and come to participate more deeply in the community (or don’t). If you’re willing, I’d love for you to share your experience with iNaturalist in response to this post. How do you use iNaturalist? How has that changed over time? How does iNaturalist influence the ways you interact with the world around you? If you’d rather not share publicly, feel free to send me a private message. Thanks so much and I can’t wait to read your responses! :)

8 Likes

I’ve had a longstanding interest in natural history. I started with Seek, learned about iNaturalist, and my collectors instinct kicked in. I try to keep balance between posting observations and identifying species I’m more comfortable with / applying computer vision to “unknown” observations to expedite the ID process. My use has been fairly stable over time, but I do wonder where it will go – I either need to get better at IDing things or better at finding things, because I’ve found most of the easy-to-find species in my area.

5 Likes

iNat has accelerated my interest in the natural world. I use inat the typical way, to upload observations and provide identifications. Through use of inat, I have learnt more about the wildlife around the places I have lived in, and have also met lots of like-minded people to share our mutual interests in wildlife.

4 Likes

I think you should check older posts, e.g. many posts about covid and iNat, also what people do for iNat, etc. they have answers you seek.

5 Likes