Getting started with insect collecting

I’m about to get into insect collecting!

I was wondering what size of pins I should use? And how many I should get? Just a beginner here so no need to get fancy. I am aiming to start with grasshoppers, dragonflies, beetles, and bees/wasps.

Should I be strict on sizes? Like, could I pin a large insect with a smaller pin? But I get that vise versa isn’t very smart.

Any advice or tips?

Thank you everybody!

1 Like

To answer your specific questions:

For grasshoppers, dragonflies, beetles: use larger pins, maybe size 2 or 3.

For large bees and wasps, 1 or 2.

Small bees and wasps, I’d use 1.

For really small wasps, point mount them on the tip of a triangle of paper.

As for how many pins to buy, that depends on how many specimens you’re planning on collecting.

I’d start out with the common, invasive species, preferably from your private property or some place that you have permission to collect in.

8 Likes

I just get a set of pins from Amazon that includes 100 of each size (00 through 5), which lasts me about 1 year. As for pointing, I found a template online which you can download and print out. Other useful tools to have are Isopropyl alcohol (to preserve specimens you are waiting to pin), forceps, and a spreading board (they are easy to make).

5 Likes

This is downloadable, and contains information on collecting and preserving all insect groups, including how to point smaller insects. AAFC_insects_and_arachnids_part_1_eng.pdf (esc-sec.ca)