Greg Lasley passing

I just saw a post on facebook that Greg Lasley passed away yesterday. He was certainly one of the greatest inaturalist contributors. Such a loss!

42 Likes

Ahhh Shit. I’ve been in touch with him over the past couple of years, and knew about his medical situation. I have been very concerned about him, but did not want to bother him with my thoughts about his condition (I’m an ex ICU nurse). I’ve never met him, but have known him since I began iNat. He seemed like a great human being. A birder gone bad, as he said. I had thought I might attend his funeral if he died, but our borders are still closed, so I cannot. This is tragic, but assume he is at peace now. What an uncalled for loss.
Edit - I had checked his page a couple of days ago, and saw that he had been active lately.

7 Likes

Ahh, that is very unfortunate. Checking the fb posts, it sounds like he passed after complications from a double lung transplant.

Greg was huge in the bird and dragonfly world and also very active in both communities here on iNaturalist. He has over 400,000 IDs on his profile and almost 40,000 observations. (https://www.inaturalist.org/people/9706)

This probably has not happened often, but what is iNaturalist’s policy on profiles of users who pass? Is there a way to make a profile “in memory” or what have you like facebook does?

13 Likes

greglasley will be missed for sure. here’s an iNat blog post that features a video interview with him: https://www.inaturalist.org/posts/17670-an-interview-with-greglasley.

see Deceased observers - and a deceased symbol on their icon - Feature Requests - iNaturalist Community Forum

8 Likes

Dan - I saw that as well. He will be missed.

I first knew of him as a nature photographer and then met him on iNat. He identified a teneral Blue Skimmer that I posted within a short time of posting it and that was one of the key things that happened to get me involved in iNat.