High quality audio recording Android app?

Hello! I’d appreciate any recommendations on an Android app capable of making higher-quality (44.1 or 48 kHz) audio recordings, preferably with an external USB mic. RecForge is often recommended for this, but for the life of me, I can’t get it to work consistently/reliably on my device (Samsung S20 ultra).

1 Like

Hi,
Have used this with excellent results:
https://www.extreamsd.com/index.php/products/usb-audio-recorder-pro

2 Likes

Not being sarcastic, but the stock app Voice Recorder works wonders for me, seriously.

I’m an audio engineer by trade, I know all about directionality of mics, quality ad/da converters and preamps yadayada…

I value that the app loads really fast, has no ads, will reject calls when recording audio, and offers a few decent options for conversion quality.

I usually have a dog or a dslr in the other hand so I value a a simple fast interface that will allow me to get an acceptable recording for documentation or identification later…

I don’t think the final output is completely “lossless” in audio conversion quality, however I can imagine it’s significantly better than a lot of the analog field recorders our predecessors utilized in the 60s-80s to obtain a lot of the famous samples we have of certain rare specimens.

keep me posted on if you find a better solution, I’m not a complete miser I just don’t like spending money on audio that doesn’t generate income for me, I have a zoom and external mic kit and rental resourses if I need to capture something worth monetizing.

3 Likes

Same, but I’m going for good enough to ID, not “high quality” like the OP. :slightly_smiling_face:

If you wanted to isolate or amplify sounds, I think in addition to the software, you might need some hardware like a directional mic and maybe some sort of wind screen or filter for ambient noise.

2 Likes