How to Add an Observation of a rare variant of an otherwise common species?

As an amateur student of dendrology I am relatively new to iNaturalist and have been surprised that the Details section of Add Observations, ‘Species Name’, only allows common names in English - and automatically generated at that, with the scientific name appended as if it were a junior partner.

This makes it difficult to list a variant of a common species in a way which isn’t just buried beneath thousands of other observations of the type (and therefore unlikely ever to be looked at by an Identifier). I can of course flag the variant in a comment box but that isn’t really the point.

For example: I want to upload a photo of Ilex aquifolium ‘Crispa’, growing wild and quite rare. The ‘Crispa’ is just ignored and the observation recorded as generic European Holly (among presently 4,210 others!).

Now I expect my problem results from not yet understanding how iNaturalist works; although I am sure someone will point me to a guide somewhere, I myself have searched unsuccessfully. If anyone can enlighten me it would banish a persistent frustration as iNaturalist seems very democratic and is a great discovery for me.

(Off topic: surely structuring the site using English common names is not very friendly to our non-anglophone brothers and sisters?)

iNat only accepts taxonomical names, ‘Crispa’ is a cultivar and isn’t a taxon of its own. You can mark it using observation fields or look up if there’re projects for escaped cultivars.
Site isn’t structured around English names, you can use latin or any other language.

4 Likes

It relies on your settings. Different people will see any number of names for I aquifolium.

2 Likes