How to deal with observations that attain research grade, though only ID of the genus should be made?

This is just an example: The genus Flammulina. There are hundreds of observations, allegedly of F. velutipes, many of them have attained research grade. I am not an expert, but I have found out that there are a couple of species of Flammulina which can only be distinguished for sure using a microscope.

As a result, I claim that most of the observations mentioned above are uncertain and should only be identified to genus.

I suggest that I could make an ID for as many as I can overcome (primarily the newest ones) and add this comment:

ā€œFlammulina velutipes can only be distinguished from other F. species by using a microscope. I accept your ID if you can veryfy characteristics, e.g. the length of the spores.ā€

Please give me some advice.

This is a good rationale for adding an identification at the genus level and saying that in the comments. Disagreeing with the previous identifications will set it to Flammulina.

5 Likes

I agree with @mertensia : identifying the observation to genus while disagreeing with the species will kick it up to genus and remove the research grade designation. I usually do this without explanation since it is time-consuming and there is a certain logic to the action by itself. Iā€™m sure users would appreciate your explanation, however.

5 Likes

You canā€™t disagree if you canā€™t prove the species is not one in id, try leaving comments but knowing Flammulina situation itā€™s gonna be hard work.

1 Like

At the bottom of the observation page, or in the Data Quality page in the Identify area, there is a box you can check that says ā€œNo, this ID can be improvedā€ or something like that. Iā€™m pretty sure that will make something that is Research Grade go down to Needs ID.

2 Likes