How to identify grasses?

I’ve decided to do a very (very very) informal survey of the plants growing on my university campus, over the time I’ll be learning there. It’s a small campus, somewhat over half a square kilometer, so with some help (whom I’m currently doing my best to recruit!) it’s not an impossible project.

For better and for worse, the majority of what grows on campus is either planted, or common weedy invasives. There’s a bit of an elephant in the room though: the lawns. So many (ahem, waste of water and not so good for wildlife and none of the students really use them, cough) lawns.

That means I’ve got to try to identify grass. Worse, grass that is mown fairly regularly. Anyone have tips? Do I try and track down someone in the administration who knows who did the landscaping? Do I just wait until the grass flowers or fruits? Would looking at roots or taking samples help? I’ve never tried to do this before.

Note: I live in Israel. Any resources are welcome, though.

watching grass grow,

Blue

8 Likes

Ideally you need to wait while it flowers, gather and check the spike and flower structure. For some species you need tussock structure.
Even if it’s mown there should be places where spikes survive, try to find them.

6 Likes

Grasses often take a good bit of work looking at very small structures, some of which you only have access to when they’re blooming or in seed.

Here is a very basic overview of the sorts of things you need to pay attention to when identifying grasses.

Here is a longer ID guide with photos to demonstrate real-world examples of what the structures looks like.

And another for common grasses in the US.

Some native forage grasses in the southern states.

One on pasture grasses.

13 Likes

Awesome, thank you! I’ll look at those.

Though small note, my university is in the Middle East, not North America.

3 Likes

Most planted grasses are either Poa, Lollium or Pheum. Look forward to see what you’ll find there.)

3 Likes