I uploaded a lot of the same species - would like an idea of how to proceed most usefully for the site

Over the weekend, I encountered a large number of unfamiliar birds - raptors - flying high and circling around. I took as many photos as I could, but I’m still relatively new to photography and find capturing birds in flight a significant challenge.

When I came to upload them to iNat, i faced a problem - I’m no raptor expert, so I didn’t know why/how many different species I had captured. Additionally, Since there were so many, I was not able to keep track of what birds i had and hadn’t photographed. In the end I had a few hundred miscellaneous shots of birds that may or may not be different species, and may or may not be the same bird.

I decided to comb through the photos and upload the best, and I decided to upload a new observation for each ‘burst’ of shots my camera took. I don’t know if different bursts were the same or different birds, but shots within a burst have to be the same bird since I was tracking it.

Most of the observations were identified as the Black Kite (So far it looks as if there were 3 different species in the mix, with the majority of the photos i took being the Black Kite), and I’m not sure if i should put them into a single observation now that someone knowledgeable on raptor identification has identified them (Since all were taken at the same time of day at the same place, but maybe multiple birds), or leave them separate (Maybe multiple observations of the same bird, no way to be sure.)

Obviously I intend to keep species separate, but for the ~10 black kite observations, should they be left as 10 or grouped as 1?

1 Like

You can do either one. Grouping them or posting each individual are both good options.

4 Likes

I nearly always post individuals separate, excepting for when there is a stupidly large amount of individuals that I know are the same species.

3 Likes