I want to make some Japanese friends

This is my first time to use iNatForum, I am not sure if this topic is suitable here. If there are anything not appropriate, please tell me and I will solve it by myself.
I am a Mantodea and Tettigoniidea Identifier on iNat but I am interested in many other groups. I am now studying in Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China. And I am learning Japanese by myself. Therefore, I want to make some young Japanese friends like me to share my ideas and joys about nature and life with them. But I don’t have twitter or Facebook. Is there anyone who can use WeChat? Please contact me and my WeChat account is l754617241(The first latter is the Lower case letters of L).

7 Likes

Being a relatively regular user here it seems to me that there aren’t many people from Japan using this forum or who use wechat (though I have it and I use it), so it might be difficult to find a suitable person here. Though, it does sound like a smart idea finding a way to combine your self-learning Japanese and interest towards insects. Have you tried searching through local social networking websites, eg. Weibo, QQ, douban etc? You may have better luck there.

Hummmmm……In my view it seems that the users on those communities are mainly Chinese. So, I think in a international community it will have more chances for me to find the people I wanted.

1 Like

Here is a list of the top observers in Japan. Perhaps you could browse their profiles and see if you happen upon a person you’d like to write?

https://www.inaturalist.org/observations?place_id=6737&subview=table&verifiable=any&view=observers

You might also set a search filter for the type of observations that interest you more in Japan and then see who the observers are for those species.

I think it would be nice to make a connection like that on iNat.