Id of ryukyu vs ashy minivet

How can I separate these two species, ashy and ryukyu minivet? Thanks.

3 Likes

I have no experience with either of these birds, but I found a link that gave somewhat of a description difference that may be helpful.

https://ebird.org/species/ashmin1

I hope that is of use to you.

I will also say, I have pretty much the exact same question about feral pigeons vs rock pigeons. I know the biological differences, but have no idea how to actually see a difference or tell them apart by just looking.

1 Like

Feral pigeons are just a subspecies of rock pigeons, so I generally just identify them all as rock pigeons. I know some IDers who call them all feral pigeons. But if they have strange colors, like white or brown, I believe they can definitely be identified as feral.

For example, this is a rock pigeon - I can’t identify it further.

These are feral pigeons.

I did that initially, but people always suggested feral. I don’t think anybody has ever agreed with the rock pigeon ID. Thanks for clarifying!

Yeah, same here. It’s not necessary to get them all to subspecies though, especially since they all seem to be the same one. Next time you observe one you could try asking the identifier why they call it feral.

1 Like

You can clearly see all of them are feral, there’re traits that pure birds don’t show, and all pigeons in towns should be called feral, there’re no ssp. to call true wild birds, so the only way is to call all domesticated ones feral and let wild birds be called species. First one clearly had some breed past in his ancestors, look at its head and bill.
It’s not ssp. by the way.

I don’t know what it is other places, but iNat considers it a subspecies.

Nope image

All right, my mistake. What is it then? Variant?

1 Like

Yeah, variety, even though it’s a weird use of it for animals.

1 Like