ID Process for Newbies?

I’m new to the app and am also learning to record observations and find out what I’m seeing.

As such, I both don’t know what look for as ID points of confirmation other than eyeballing, nor how the community observations and corrections work. Obviously, I’ll defer to experience, thank you. But how do such offers of correction come about? Are they like Wikipedia editors on the lookout for bad eyes like mine?

Do others’ observations of their own get appended to mine automatically?

How do my observations align with a local “project” that I follow? And how do I make sure not to mess them up?

And what do the notifications on my observations dashboard mean?

Sorry for the dumb questions. Thanks for the help. I looked for a guide on these but couldn’t find it.

7 Likes

Welcome to iNaturalist Chris. I’m new to the forum - this is my first post! I think you’ll find this page useful https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/lets_id_some_arthropods

You might also find the ‘identifications’ section of the help pages useful https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/help

There are lots of people on iNaturalist with different levels and areas of expertise who are adding identifications to observations. When you upload an organism it’s great if you are able to id yourself. If you can’t then following the computer generated recommendation is helpful or just label it to a higher taxon. Even just labelling something as ‘Plants’ is more useful than leaving it blank because it makes it more likely that potential identifiers will see the observation.

There are lots of people with expert knowledge here and users will usually search for observations that fit what they are knowledgeable about. They may search recent observations within a certain geographical area or taxon, they may be ‘following’ certain taxa or groups or they may identify through specific projects.