Identification for beginners

What are some easy species for beginners to identify to start whittling down some of the outstanding observations? In other words, what are some species that look different enough from related species that it is easy to tell them apart and therefore pretty accurate for newbies to start helping?

I mostly broadly categorize the Unknown pool now because I know I am not an expert in anything and I don’t want to confirm an ID at the species level knowing that I very well could be wrong.

For example, I would identify creeping charlie which is fairly easy to tell apart from the other mints and ajugas which is the only species level ID I would feel comfortable making.

9 Likes

Birds in your region can be a good place to start.

8 Likes

Another one is common selfheal. I think you’ll find quite a lot of it to confirm from Iceland to North Carolina and on!:herb:

2 Likes

There really aren’t any “easy” species. It’s more a matter of interest. Birds and butterflies and flowers seem easy because lots of people like them and there’s a ton of books available to help IDs. And that would also be my advice for picking a group to learn. Pick something you think is fun and that has decent ID references or a local expert you can sponge off.

Learning anything is hard work. Learning something fun takes the edge off the work. You’ll still have ups and downs as you learn but the fun part will push you through the down times.

12 Likes

It’s buried deep in the Getting Started pages, but this page has some tips for identifying some common species with very broad distributions as well as tips for refining identifications of Arachnids.

8 Likes

Wow, this is exactly the advice I give my college students about major, major specialty and career plans! (Often it’s contrary to what their parents have told them but that’s a subject for a different site heh.)

9 Likes