Incorrect Corrections

iNaturalist participants beware of incorrect corrections to identifications. I was unfairly labelled as “Maverick”, but I have a Biochemistry degree, educator credentials, graduate research, and other leadership experience. My wildlife identification was incorrectly corrected by a high volume observer with high quantity, but questionable quality, identifications. Please rectify this serious concern.

May I suggest engaging with the people you disagree with directly? More than likely everybody submitting identifications is trying to learn.

15 Likes

I already have privately written to the observer. However, the person may have misidentified more flora and fauna than one case. Other participants should be educated about errors introduced by amateurs making false assumptions about other scientists and the legal repercussions of libel.

Hi @daphne1, welcome to the iNaturalist Forum. I’ve moved your post from the Forum Feedback section over to General. (The Forum Feedback category is for feedback specifically about the forum rather than iNaturalist itself. A bit meta.)

It looks like you currently have one maverick ID, and the users who have interacted with that observation are definitely not users who contribute what I would call “high quantity, but questionable quality identifications”. I see no comments on that observation. If you are curious why someone has identified an observation a certain way, definitely feel free to leave a comment on the observation asking why! : ) Identifiers on iNaturalist need not have any particular degree or credentials to have a strong background in the identification of certain taxa.

21 Likes

If this is a true database for citizen science, the community should have qualifications to conduct the observations or be led by a person who is an expert. It is professionally unacceptable to make false assumptions about other scientists’ expertise. The label “Maverick” is unscientific and negative.