Is Elegent Zinnia petals a bract?

Are these red petals bract? And in the future, how do I know whenever these flower petals are a bract or not?

2 Likes

Hi, i am no expert on the family Asteraceae, but i do expect that the genus Zinnia got red, assymmetric flowers at the outer = lower side of the congested inflorescence, while the inner = “higher” flowers are radially symmetric. So the red, showy parts do consist of (i think 2) true petals, while true bracts are farther downwards, at the outer part of the whole inflorescence, and shall look like scales. This image tells what i meant.

2 Likes

Hello erwin, thank you very much for your response.

This is a very interesting found for me as I did not know bract can also look like that. I understand now, thank you!

Zinnias and other plants in this family have kind of weird flowers. What you have photographed looks like one flower, but it’s actually a whole cluster of very small flowers. The flowers with big petals, that you asked about, are called ray flowers. The others, toward the center are called disk flowers. In your photo, the red ones in the center are disk flowers in bud. Next is a ring of open yellow disk flowers. Then a narrow ring of red, closed, old disk flowers. Then the ring of red ray flowers. Outside/below them are the bracts, not visible in this photo.

I like how these plants have evolved to get advantages that come from big flowers and from small ones. In this case, each flower makes just one seed. It’s small like its flower and can travel easily. However, small flowers don’t attract big, far-flying pollinators because they’re hard to see, have little nectar, and aren’t strong enough to support a big bumblebee. These small flowers cluster together to make what looks like a big flower. It’s easy to see. It presents lots of nectar (a little in each flower). And it’s strong. Big insects can land there and walk around. So cool!

16 Likes