Is it good to go through "Unknown" observations that need an ID and at least do a general classification?

I have been doing iNat since June of 2020. There seem to be a lot of observations that need an ID.

I have been going to the Explore page and filtering for observations marked “Unknown”. A lot of them seem to be mushrooms. So, I suggest the general category of “Fungi Including Lichens (Mushrooms)”. I am doing this because I know of a couple of users here who look for fungi to identify. So, if they search and filter for this general “Fungi”, they will see it.

I have also wondered if doing this for insects, birds, etc. I know that I have filtered specifically for birds and insects. I know birds pretty well in this area. And, I know other users here who look for specific groups like this.

8 Likes

It might be worth reading this post: https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/amount-of-unknown-records-is-decreasing/8594/357

I think that should answer a lot of your questions and also put you in touch with many of the other “unknown” identifiers.

9 Likes

Welcome to the club :)

6 Likes

Yes, this definitely helps!

8 Likes

Yes, it helps. In fact, it is so helpful (and common) that iNat staff included it in the help/FAQ:
https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/help#coarse-ids

9 Likes

Thanks, MaLisa, for that link to the other thread.

I have seen that iNat is used by all sorts of people from people who know little to nothing about nature to people who have developed a certain amount of expertise on their own, to serious students, to people doing scientific research. It seems like it was created for all of those people (from reading the About page). So, one should expect a wide variety of identification attempts. I am not looking down my nose at anyone here just because I can ID a lot of birds. I am easily humbled when I try to ID something in other categories like fungi, insects and plants.