Little interaction by the community

Good evening,

I have been using inaturalist for about 4-5 months, I am starting with botany subjects and I am still a novice, I try to go through my entire area with the camera, I upload the photographs and when I get home I try to apply the dichotomous keys for each one of them.

But after days, weeks, months and I cannot get a single person to propose an observation in those that I do not know the species and, in others that I do believe to recognize it, not a single person confirms or denies my proposal.

I have many plants without any participation.

Can you tell me what I’m doing wrong? Should I be part of projects or something so that my contributions are seen and the community participates?

Thanks! :)

6 Likes

The short answer is that there are not enough botanists IDing plant records —and there are a lot of plant records submitted — plus there might be even fewer with knowledge of plants in your observation area, wherever that is.

19 Likes

You currently have 60 observations of plants and 31 are Research Grade.
That suggests a relatively high degree of participation.

19 Likes

Spain ? I have no problems with Canaries.
https://www.inaturalist.org/observations?place_id=any&subview=table&user_id=conandanco&verifiable=any

But wait one year

1 Like

First, welcome to iNat! I had a quick look at your profile and I see the point above. About 50% of your observations are research grade - which is not dissimilar to my own rate (but I mainly observe insects so that’s very different. but your point is specifically those observations where you have not been able to get to a suggested species yourself.