Looking for "training wheel" ideas to explore R / Python with iNat sample data

Hi folks,

I’m a front-end developer who will be spending a few days of professional development early 2024 either learning foundational basics of R or Python, still to be determined.

To help with my motivation, I’m wanting to come up with one or two small practical projects where I can use iNat data as part of my learning process. I’m looking for ideas on a few things a beginner with limited time might be able to do with a sample dataset. Nothing too complex and not even necessarily something practical! Also wanting to avoid additional libraries or API tie-ins… will save those for a different time!

If it’s helpful, my current interests lie in studying botanical data for specific eco-regions. Long-term I want to become more well-versed in data visualization and be able to tie in data from multiple sources (weather and climate patterns, plant phenology over time, etc.) I will not achieve this in the limited time I can dedicate coming up though.

Curious if anybody has ideas for basic learning exercises I might try as I get started! Thank you in advance.

9 Likes

For R:

I’d start with basic mapping using ggplot2, map your favorite species.

Get some elevation raster files for your region and make a histogram plot of what elevations your species is found at. Look at the outliers on iNat and see if they are misidentified.

Stepping up in complexity to raster data, use terra to compute the observation density of a taxon across its range.

Even harder: download worldclim2 data and create a species distribution model using biomod2

If you need help, ask chatgpt or DM me. I write a fair bit of R code these days, most of which is using iNat or similar data

6 Likes