Lost placeholder

Please fill out the following sections to the best of your ability, it will help us investigate bugs if we have this information at the outset. Screenshots are especially helpful, so please provide those if you can.

Platform (Android, iOS, Website):

App version number, if a mobile app issue (shown under Settings or About):

Browser, if a website issue (Firefox, Chrome, etc) :

URLs (aka web addresses) of any relevant observations or pages:

Screenshots of what you are seeing (instructions for taking a screenshot on computers and mobile devices: https://www.take-a-screenshot.org/):

Description of problem (please provide a set of steps we can use to replicate the issue, and make as many as you need.):

Step 1: I have been lodging insect images including moths on iNat since 2020 and always put in a place holder. I am confident of the species of many of the moths but after they have been entered the identification is changed to the useless and non specific Lepidoptera and the placeholder is lost. Is there any way the species placeholder can be maintained so that those with the necessary expertise can either agree or disagree with the species. Geoff Byrne

Step 2:

Step 3:

1 Like

do you have a link of an example observation where this has happened? I know the likely answer, but want to check

The placeholder disappears with a new ID. It is not lost. If you ask the person to delete the "useless and non specific Lepidoptera " ID it will reappear. I usually made a sometime cryptic note of the placeholder but not everyone does it. It really is time to make definite changes to preserve the placeholder in a comment.

1 Like