Naturalists of fiction: friends or fiends? Good or bad? Stereotypical or inspirational?

Books, movies, TV, theatre. Other creative works of the imagination.

What are some of the most memorable portrayals of naturalists in works of fiction that you have encountered? And please explain why you like – or don’t like – the character(s) you recall.

1 Like

Dr. Dolittle is the only fictional naturalist I remember and I only really remember the name. I can’t say it really matters though since I’m still learning about overlooked real life naturalists.

1 Like

Maybe slightly related but opposite your prompt: Does your nature knowledge spoil fiction?

1 Like

Not really naturalists per se, but thinking of Poison Ivy from the Batman series, or Reginald Bushroot from the Darkwing Duck cartoons, it irks me that characters with those powers in particular are always villains, never heroes. It shows a deep-rooted anti-nature sentiment in our culture.

1 Like

I wish I could find it, but I’ll just have to describe it.

There’s a great single panel cartoon of Batman ready to fight Poison Ivy and Mr,. Freeze where Ivy says to Batman something like, “Why are we the bad guys? All we want to do is make the world a cooler and greener place!”

3 Likes

Dinosaur movies. You can find a few characters.
Gerald Durrell. His books were in my school library. Adventures on collecting rare creatures, increase their numbers and reintroduction. If done carelessly today, obviously it makes the creatures extinct faster, but he had helped a few species avoid extinction. He wrote a few fiction books.
The movie - Species, starring Natasha Henstridge. I couldn’t remember the details. Story was like a group of scientists investigating a femme fatale/alien creature. Many of the scientists were killed by the alien in bed.

1 Like

Neytiri, the Navi woman in Avatar. She was the “spokesperson” who explained the planet’s Gaia and connections between and with living species on the planet.