New User, Are Notes Typically Encouraged or Discouraged?

Hello everyone, I am new to iNaturalist and am wondering if people tend to find others’ notes on observations worthwhile, obnoxious, or ineffectual. I am autistic and can have a difficult time understanding standards of conduct (I’m not even sure if this forum post should be made, haha). I am aware that each accurate identification provides a link with information vetted by those much more educated than I, but I also enjoy leaving notes on each observation for my own purposes and also somewhat as well to potentially inspire future research for others. Especially considering I observe a great deal of edible plants, I feel somewhat mixed about leaving notes, but I assume that most people on here have the common sense to do their own research. Should I skip notes, or just include basics about location conditions, or should I continue to write my own extended notes as usual?

20 Likes

Welcome to the forum!
If you’re talking about notes on your own observations, I would be surprised to hear anyone say they find them obnoxious. I think you should feel free to add whatever information you would find useful. I will also add that sometimes other identifiers don’t notice the extra information, so if it seems like someone may not have read your notes, it’s probably because they haven’t read your notes. :sweat_smile:

If you’re talking about notes on observations that other people have made, I could imagine a few people might not like that, but there are no rules against lengthy comments for others.

29 Likes

Yes, I meant to specify that the notes would only be on my own observations. I imagine many would be annoyed if I applied my kind of notes as comments to their observations, lol. Thank you for your input!

6 Likes