Photo Bounties: Good Incentive or Dumb Idea?

I’ve occasionally played with the idea of posting a ‘bounty’ for photographs of certain rare robber fly taxa. The primary goal being to locate populations of species that have not been collected or seen in decades.

For those actively involved in wildlife photography, would anyone actually be motivated by monetary rewards for hunting and photographing particular organisms? Especially when getting those photos may involve traveling to remote areas with no guarantee of success? What would be a reasonable payout, taking into account travel costs and time investments?

Any other ideas for how to promote the public to search for particular taxa?

3 Likes

I’m somewhat philosophically agains offering rewards (especially monetary ones) for stuff like this, but I have no experience in this specific situation.

External rewards like grades, cameras, (and even trips!) have created situations in which people falsify data on iNat, so in general it’s not a good idea for iNat itself.

13 Likes

Creating a list of unobserved species, how to distinguish and where to find them could be a good start and enough motivation for many to travel.
Here we have a competition for the most observations in far regions with money prize to essentially pay for the road there, but imo money is not a key element to stimulate people.

9 Likes

This is risky, in part because it runs the chance of unethical behaviors of people saying they found something, when they actually just grabbed a photo from the internet. That tends to happen with a lot of student projects, but at least most of those are easily confirmed via reverse image search and flagged as copyright infringement.