Removal of Invasives

Hi Everyone!
I am new to iNaturalist and am curious about how mapping of invasives work.
If an inventory is created for a specific area or on a specific species, and then appropriate measures are taken to remove these populations; is the easiest way for this removal to be acknowledged in iNaturalist to delete every single observation?

Seems like a timely task to do it this way, also I see there being confusion in identifying what exact individual is removed. Thanks in advance!

Welcome to iNaturalist and the Forum!

To the extent that iNaturalist is used to guide detection and removal of invasives, I would answer…

Absolutely not. Deleting the observations erases the record of what was there and when, and why removal efforts were conducted. Instead, the observations can be updated in the comments and/or descriptions to indicate that removal was conducted and that the population no longer exists in that location (if that was the outcome).

15 Likes

Observations should never be deleted if organism dies, invasive or not, iNat shouldn’t be used the way you describe, every observation is ided, by deleting it you also delete an effort made by experts. And of course those are historical records that can be useful in the future.

8 Likes

A small example of one I’ve done:
https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/136888328

7 Likes

Thank you for the quick response! Makes sense. Thank you.

2 Likes

Thank you for your help and quick response! Totally makes sense. Thank you.

1 Like

I frequently report invasive plants right before pulling them. When I have removed a plant between the time that I took the photo and posted the observation (as is frequent) I note this in the text, usually later when I come back to the computer and am adding ID’s and commentary.