Responding to "my kid ate this, is it poison?"

A few times, I’ve run across an Observation with a description or comment along the lines of “hey my kid/nephew/canary/whatever just ate this plant, is it poisonous? Urgent!!”.

I’m not sure what to do with these, other than tell the poster “please immediately call a doctor if you are concerned”. I like to also note that it often takes time for Observations to get a decisive ID.

Usually I don’t know what the plant is, as I’m still a beginner here. Regardless – whether I recognize it or not, and whether it is poisonous or not – what ought I to do?
I’d like to know what you guys recommend saying or doing.

(I’d also like to know why the #### concerned parents don’t call a doctor or poison helpline first thing!)

7 Likes

And there is still a small but non-zero risk that it might be wrong!

4 Likes

Probably depends on the country, but in the US, for humans who may have ingested something poisonous, they should call poison control. 1-800-222-1222 or their other resources online https://www.poison.org/18002221222

(As to your last question, it’s possible iNat is just one of many ways they’re trying to get help. I know when I’m in a bind and don’t know what to do, I seek help from multiple resources.)

9 Likes

I usually see these on Facebook ID groups. I usually just ignore it. If they’re not responsible enough to care for whatever is in their care, I sure as hell am not gonna waste my time with their petty drama. It’s usually blurry photos. But I agree with you, if they’re that concerned, why are they wasting their time on FB or iNat?

1 Like

It’s the same with insect/spider bites and stings and so on… the fear of the unknown has you reaching out for help wherever you can get it from…