Seeking for plant taxonomist help!

I write this post to get in touch with someone or with an authorities in plant taxonomy, not to make changes to the iNat platform, but to see how to revive an old name in a well-known plant. We are facing an historical #drama, we just uncover and very old name but who was published in and lost old trip diary, this name was used just two time, and then forgotten, then this plant was described as a first, with a name used till today. We have the proofs and needed data to improve this name, but we would like to have some guidances, is this the place to meet a taxonomist in plants? :)

apologize if I’m pretty lost :P

2 Likes

Botany journals that accept taxonomic papers would be your best bet.

Is the name a scientific name or a common name ?

a scientific name. Now I think is a very innapropiate question, not sure why I was thinking lol

I’m no scientist. iNat relies on Kew’s POWO for scientific names. I’d think they in turn have ties with Universities in various countries throughout the world. You can get in contact with your local university. As I see it, the scientific name may need to be published with a time stamp. Just for example, like say description of this species was published in 1900, in a journal or book. When you mention diary, I’ve a feeling it is not published. Although the person involved might be a well known collector, or scientist. As said, I’m not scientist. I do not know beyond the basics how this may turn out. Maybe it is valid, rules are in place on how scientific names are published.