Some questions + hello from a beginner

Hello!

I’m a new user from Israel. I moved here from New Jersey about four years ago.
I’m a rising college freshman at Bar Ilan University, where I’ll (hopefully) be studying Biophysics.

In the last week I’ve learned to identify some of the most common local weeds and birds, plus a few other creatures. I’ve got no background or training whatsoever, just a lifelong passion for animals and nature.
It’s been a fun learning experience!

I looked for iNat Guides in my area, and none exist. Nor for neighbouring countries such as Lebanon or Egypt. Does anyone have a suggestion what I could use in stead?

I’ve started sorting out lactuca serriola and lactuca virola , because it’s a) one of the first plants I learned to identify using iNat, b) a common upload c) not too difficult to ID and d) I get the impression that plants usually wait the longest for IDs.
At some point I’ll learn to ID more, but this feels like a fine way to start.

I also want to know, how far apart do two observations of the same species have to be in order for the data to be useful to researchers?
Recording two of the same (common) plant or bird 100 meters apart doesn’t seem so helpful. What’s a good rule of thumb?

2 Likes

Welcome to iNat!

Nothing wrong with uploading observations of the same species in close proximity to each other. In fact, depending on the research question/study, lots of very close records could actually be more useful! Clumped records might reveal that that particular area is a hotspot/high population density area, which could be useful for applications like finding good sources to repopulate other areas.

2 Likes

Welcome the forum and site.

Guides are an old unsupported feature on the site, which ones got made is a bit random. People still can work on them and do new ones, but there are no guarantees about what exist.

2 other options you can learn to use.