Spilled Salmon questions

Truck crash hurls 77,000 threatened salmon into wrong creek

This article sent my brain reeling. I have so many questions, all of which I suspect are wildly stupid but I have zero experience with fish. (Please be kind.)

1. Are these then considered introduced? Captive because they are tagged? (Very confused)
  2. Could they conceivably survive in this place?
  3. I know salmon travel great distances – could they travel to better waters if need be?
  4. Will they co-mingle with other fish?
  5. Is this catastrophically bad? (the misplacement)
5 Likes

Those are very good questions!
I took a break to read the article.

“The 77,000 fish that made it into Lookingglass Creek will likely return there and produce approximately 350-700 additional adults,” the statement said.”

So, yes, they can survive, are expected to migrate to the ocean and make it back to this river. Could have been worse.
These are fish that are being restocked and that restocking will continue, but into the planned river.
Oh that captive question! I would call them introduced in this case, as they are in an unintended river.
They were raised to this point by human care, and from here on their own. That’s all I’ll say on that. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

I have no clue, but I was thinking there probably could have been worse cargo in that truck that would have been more catastrophic.

5 Likes

By co-mingling, if you mean cross breeding, I’d say no. There may be impact by food competition with the other fish, though.

1 Like

In that watershed they would be introduced and wild I think. No idea about the ecological impact, but I am assuming that 70,000 of any reasonably sized mid-tier predator will cause an ecosystem impact while they are around. However, the specific situation in the release river will play a major part in determining the outcome.