Stepped on mushroom

Hi, I’m new here but was hoping to get some advice from people who know about these things.

I think I might have stepped on what looked like a crushed, mushed mushroom on the floor in a field whilst walking my dog. (I’m based in the UK.)

I’m worried that it might have been poisonous and if so, could any of its toxins end up on my shoes, potentially spreading to other shoes when I put them away in a shoe rack, and potentially therefore end up on my hands when I put any of my shoes on.

This might not seem like a problem but I’m worried that if all of that is possible, if I then ate something with my hands after touching my shoes, could that lead to me ingesting some toxins and be poisoned.

Any advice and insight would be greatly appreciated over whether this is something I should worry about or not.

Many thanks in advance.

I’m not a mushroom expert, but, from what I’ve read/heard, you should not be worried. A thread with answer to this from more experienced mushroom folks is:
https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/how-worried-should-i-be-about-mushrooms-in-my-yard/44286

5 Likes

I wouldn’t worry about it. You can touch a toxic mushroom without a problem but just don’t eat them. Wash your hands to be extra careful.

4 Likes

You have a concern.
Please wipe the soles of the shoes with a disinfectant wipe. Let them air dry before putting away. (Please check that the disinfectant will not harm your shoe, try in small area first)

Thanks, you’re right that I personally have a concern, but what I’m trying to ascertain is whether I should or not?

Or if in reality this is a scenario I don’t need to worry about

Thank you for your reply. Do you therefore think that to touch something which might have come into contact with a mushroom and then proceed to eat without first washing hands would be ok?