Thoughts on specifying organism forms? (Harmonia axyridis)

I’m not a professional, I’m just an amateur who thinks iNaturalist is neat, and in doing this I’ve found myself getting really interested in beetles–specifically lady beetles.

I learned that there are different forms of the Asian Ladybeetle (Harmonia axyridis) and thought that was really interesting. I see that iNat has four named forms for this species, and I also noticed that there were barely any observations for them (probably because not many people know about it). I was curious so I started looking through H. axyridis observations and seeing if any of them fit into one of the four forms (there’s so much variety within that species) and suggesting that as an ID. I thought it would be really neat to see it get as specific as possible because that could help if people wanted to do research on specific forms or just were curious. I personally am interested to see any patterns in habitat and have already noticed a few trends!

I am a big nerd for comprehensive and consistent data, so I figure hey, might as well make it the most specific it can get, even if it just for fun. I was curious if other people had thoughts about this.

Would this mess anything up? I know that those form observations are no longer shown on the map of the regular Harmonia axyridis observations on the taxonomy page. (However there are hundreds of thousands of observations for the species level, so it is not a noticable difference considering there are so few form IDs.

Again, I’m just someone who enjoys surfing iNat and learning, and thought this was neat, but was curious if other people had thoughts.

1 Like