Thoughts on uploading images from webcams

Would taking a screenshot from a webcam and uploading it count as copywrite?

Not if you own the webcam, otherwise yes.

3 Likes

Yes, unless you own the webcam, posting the photos to iNat would be a copyright violation.

3 Likes

EDIT: I now understand that by ‘webcam’ the OP may have been talking about other people’s live streams provided on the internet. In my answer below, I had just assumed he was talking about using a webcam to take a photo.

Is this really true? As a semi-professional photographer myself, equipment ownership doesn’t even come into the copyright equation. If a client borrows my camera to take a photo on one of my small-group wildlife tours, that photo is their copyright by default.
There would have to be an explicit contract setting out that they are working on my behalf and forfeit copyright of any photos to me, as would be the case in a photographer working for an employer where the photos he takes as part of his job are stipulated to belong to the company. I would have thought the same would be true with a webcam; I can’t see why it wouldn’t.
Remember that huge case a few years back with nature photographer David Slater who gave his camera to a crested macaque to play with and it took a photo of itself? A huge copyright debate ensued, in which it was finally decided that the photographer probably would have some legal claim to copyright ownership of the photo that the monkey took with his camera, but ONLY because under UK/US law animals cannot own copyrights. Legal commenters were pretty clear that were same situation to arise with a person in place of the monkey, and the person accidentally pressed the shutter button while toying with the borrowed camera, that person would be the legal copyright owner of the shot under the law as it stands.

1 Like