Travelling for observations

Im new to inaturalist and im curious, have you ever gone to a place just because you saw an intresting observation?
Like travelling to an exact location just to see what YOU could observe there?
I know that there are big groups for this sort of thing, but just YOU traveling for some observations and nothing else.

9 Likes

Welcome to iNaturalist!

I have accompanied family members to an archaeological site in which I had no real historical interest but I had been stunned by all the species I observed there a few years previously. On the previous occasion my phone had run out of battery so this time I took an extra battery.

It was not a new location but I did travel there specifically to see what I might see. (One observation: the pandemic was excellent for Ctenosaura similis, which post-pandemic were present in profusion and so many of a huge size.)

5 Likes

Ha! I do this regularly. Once I saw an interesting observation online and got there so fast the observer was still on site. We had fun talking plants and iNaturalist.

More often I get an old herbarium record and try to track it down to see if the plant is still there for iNaturalist. This works about 30% of the time and leads to nice adventures.

24 Likes

Pretty regularly! (Admittedly, I’d have gone to these places anyway, but taking photos for iNat adds the extra push). I’ve definitely taken myself off to certain local nature reserves to find a bird somebody posted the day before, with success

9 Likes

I do this all the time. My furthest travel so far was last fall: https://www.inaturalist.org/journal/elias105/71367-how-i-found-the-hairy-shadow-witch