Using iNat is bringing comfort to this new naturalist during COVID lockdown—what about you?

I’m very new to the iNaturalist community (and to naturalism in general) but I’m very excited to be here. I’m getting a thrill out of identifying trees, specifically, though I have never paid them nearly so much attention in the past. I think there is one main reason for this:

I moved with my husband and baby to a new city just before the lockdown and it’s difficult to get to know the place or its people in these circumstances. I’m lonely. Getting to know the trees is providing some much-needed acquaintanceship, in a way, which I never would have expected.

I’m really curious to hear from others about whether you’re having a similar experience right now—whether new to iNat or a longtime user/observer. Is the process of observing and documenting your natural observations providing a new type of comfort for you right now? Is there something else that has changed in your interaction with iNat that could be tied to the lockdown?

I’m thinking about trying to write a short essay about this experience. I think it would be a lot more interesting if experiences beyond mine were included. I wouldn’t mention you or include your words without your permission, of course.

Thanks, everyone. So glad to be here.

14 Likes

I’m new to the community too, only started using the site in March. I didn’t pay a lot of attention before and now I’m seeing wildflowers everywhere, and learning how to tell bumble bees apart, and all sorts of things. It is a comfort in the current circumstances, and it’s getting me outdoors a lot more than I otherwise would too, which has to be good for my health.

10 Likes

I do find that iNaturalist is bringing me comfort and community during this crisis. I’ve made friends and gained mentors in the year I’ve been here, and I find keeping in touch with them to be a great pleasure.