VU designation on a common subspecies?

A newbie here. I noticed a VU designation on a butterfly species that I have observed a few times at different local locations - I was surprised.

On further online search, I understand one of the subspecies of this butterfly is on the vulnerable list while the subspecies that I have observed is not on the vulnerable list.

So I decided to change my suggested ID from species level to subspecies level as I feel a VU designation is inaccurate for my observation.

https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/106351008

and I added this comment below to my observation.
“Euploea radamanthus radamnthus is the subspecies found in Peninsular Malaysia and is not uncommon. While Euploea radamanthus schreiberi is a vulnerable species found in Indonesia. If ID just as Euploea radamanthus ssp - it will include both species and the VU (vulnerable designation) will appear in the observation.”

However I found that observation of the subspecies that I have observed is also given a VU designation. Is this a common practice in iNaturalist that if one of the subspecies is VU, all the subspecies get the same designation? I am a bit confused.
https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/111784188

A shorter question is why is an entire species given a VU designation when only one of the subspecies is on the vulnerable list?
https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/149405-Euploea-radamanthus

Thanks for any feedback. This is my first posting, hahaha.

1 Like

For a taxon, you can go to its page (like this) and look at the status tab to see status and sources. In the case of this subspecies, the source of the VU designation is “Unknown” which doesn’t provide much info unfortunately.

I would note that status is often based on vulnerability in specific areas, so just because a species is common locally, doesn’t mean it is not threatened more broadly. However, I have no knowledge of this taxon, so can’t comment!

1 Like