Weird Photos on some observations

I’m new to iNaturalist and I’m just looking around to learn how it all works. I found a couple of weird observations with photos of seemingly random things. One was identified as ‘human’, with two photos attached - one was of some kind of bush, and the other was of a salt shaker on a table. I flagged the salt shaker photo as ‘spam’ and thought nothing of it. Now I’ve got a notification saying it’s been ‘resolved’ and it’s not spam. The same user has several other photos - one with a photo of the back of someone’s butt (wearing pants) as they’re laying on a bed - one of someone’s foot resting on some gym equipment, on the same observation as a photo of some tree bark.

I don’t get it. I don’t know if this is something that a lot of people do - just put weird, random photos on here? I didn’t think much of it when i flagged it, and thought it might just be ignored, but to have it ‘resolved’ as ‘Not Spam’ is just weird. Am I missing something?

Edit: photos with username removed

3 Likes

iNat’s definition of “spam” is given when a user goes to flag a photo:

The photos of a salt shaker and others wouldn’t meet that definition, so that’s why the flags were resolved.

For non-living things, the easiest way to deal with them is to ID as human (they are signs of a human being present) - a little “meta” perhaps and wouldn’t be clear to a new user, but this makes an observation “casual” grade and less likely to be encountered by other users.

Posting random photos is something that new users often do. In many cases they are students required to use iNat or maybe people who just think it’s a social site. It’s often best to leave a polite comment explaining the issue.