What do you put if the algorithm can't even guess?

I’m really new to this, so forgive my ignorance. There’s been a pale bird hanging out with the local house finches and I’ve taken some images of it, but even the iNat algorithm couldn’t identify it, so I ended up putting an ID of house finch because that’s the kinds of birds its been seen with. I know people HATE it when you put “unknown” so what do you do if iNat can’t guess? I’ve had this happen a couple of times and I want to make sure I’m not irking anyone nor falsely IDing something.

4 Likes

Good question. There’s a big difference between “Unknown” and (unknown) “Bird”. The former will probably never get identified, while the latter will be picked up and ID’d very quickly by the many bird folks on the site.
So just think of your own best guess, and be as specific as you can while still being roughly 100% sure. Like, you’re probably 100% sure it’s a bird (Class: Aves) so just put that.

13 Likes

Just put ‘birds’. Someone will find it.

6 Likes

Just go higher up and more general.

• “Birds” is a valid ID option for any bird;
  • “Plants” is a valid option for any plant.

And if you mark it as a “Bird” a bird expert will be likely to see it within a short period.

5 Likes

Please, don’t use “Plants” if you can. It’s like using “Kingdom Animalia” for all things zoological.

Plants contain “Vascular Plants”, “Mosses and Liverworts”, and Algae. These are three very different things and odds are an expert on vascular plants don’t know mosses very well. So discerning would be much appreciated.

On the subject I agree that "Bird’ is sufficient ID.

6 Likes

Bird ID gets refined while I am working on the next few.