Why Should People Upload Pictures of Common Species

Hi again,

I am just wondering, what is a good reason for folks to upload pictures of common species that they have seen every day? I know for data purposes but I don’t know what else, lol.

For example, you have deer that visit your backyard just about every day.

Sorry if this seems like a newish question.

Thanks for answering.

Bookworm86

3 Likes

I think if you search you will find a nearly identical thread from several months ago with lots of discussion.

2 Likes

Perhaps this one? https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/overzealous-observations/6633
It does seem to address your question, @bookworm88.

1 Like

Ok, ty!

Let me give you a couple of really detailed case example.

I’m a PhD student studying a specific species of Dragonfly, Hemicordulia Tau. It’s a pretty common dragonfly in the parts of Australia where it is found, so I can imagine for a lot of people it might be a ‘record once, then forget’ species.

I study dragonflies I catch in the wild, so i spend a lot of time out catching them. One day I had an idea - I downloaded all the observations of the species from I Naturalist, and correlated it with local time of day and atmospheric conditions, like temperature. I was able to use this to see patterns in when the species was most commonly found, and was able to target the time I spend catching at times they seemed most common based on iNat observations. As a result of this, i was able to halve the time i spend catching for the same amount of dragonflies, giving me more time to read the literature, run my experiments, or have a life beyond the PhD!

Even though it’s a common species, who knows when and how the data will be useful to someone in the future!

48 Likes