Are lizards much easier to find than snakes?

Looking for advice from more experienced herpers :)
I’m new to herping (I’ve just started a few months ago) but it’s one of my greatest hobbies now, it all started with getting fascinated with geckos during the lockdown and reading as much as I could about these cute creature. Fortunately, I live in a place with a lot of herps (Southeastern Turkey), so when the lockdown ended and weather got warmer I started field herping. My city has a 5 km long ancient defense wall and some rocky areas adjacent to this wall - much loved by lizards. Whenever I go there I observe Mediodactylus geckos (orientalis and possibly heterocercus - but not completely sure about that), Roughtail rock agamas (Stellagama stellio) including many babies and juveniles, and Levant skinks (Heremites auratus). I also find many frogs and toads. But so far I have only seen a snake once and it was a Dahl’s whip snake (Platyceps najadum). The same happens when I travel to other cities and countries - somehow lizards and amphibians are always there, but I don’t find snakes. I know that some snakes are nocturnal, but for instance whip snakes are diurnal and if I’ve seen it once it means there should be more :)
Could it be because I mostly make my observations in urban areas / close to urban areas (not crowded,but also not completely deserted)? Is is the same all over the world that lizards are much easier to spot?
I have ordered a book about field herping, but living in a country with slow postal service I can’t hope to get it before mid-September :) Therefore I’ll be thankful for any tips on finding snakes, especially that I’m going to travel to another country (Bosnia and Herzegovina) in a few days and I’d like to do some herping there as well :) Thanks in advance!

3 Likes