Audio recordings of bird song/calls

I’m relatively new to iNaturalist, and have used it over the last few months, most days, and in general to post audio recordings of bird songs on my walks in my local (urban) area (I’m in the UK). Recently I’ve started taking stock of my and others’ audio recordings over the last few months, and I’m a bit surprised that relatively few people are using it for this purpose. I wondered if people had suggestions for ways to encourage more use of iNaturalist for birdsong recording?

2 Likes

I’ve noticed that a lot of song recordings on iNat go unidentified longer than you’d expect, possibly because the observer never added an ID when they uploaded the recording. Maybe if you filtered for Needs ID observations that have sounds, you could identify them (or some of them, at any rate) and that would perhaps encourage more recordings?

Here in the U.S., many serious birders use eBird to note their bird observations, rather than iNat, although there are certainly plenty of U.S. bird photos on iNat. Maybe that’s another reason for the lack of recordings on iNat?

8 Likes

I think many people are discouraged from uploading audio, because audio-only observations are identified at a much slower rate than observations including photos.

From the other point of view, many people are discouraged from identifying audio, because many observers don’t vet their audio as carefully as they do photos.

1. Many people know how to crop photos on their phone/computer, but people are less familiar with audio editing software. So many people don’t edit their audio clips.
  2. Unedited audio clips are harder to ID than unedited photos. I can zoom in on an uncropped photo, but I am much more limited in my ability to normalize, amplify, etc. other’s audio observations.