Bacterium Captive/Cultivated? Guides?

Do I ever need to mark a bacterium which has not been intentionally grown or cultivated under lab conditions as captive/cultivated?

The example I currently have in mind would be bacteria scraped from abandoned food items or worktops where neither has been intentionally left dirty. In addition, does anyone know of comprehensive guides to the bacteria commonly found in the home and on the body?

2 Likes

I’m not an expert in this area, but I think that cultured bacteria from a sample can be used as evidence of an organism. Just make sure the location and date are where you took the sample.

6 Likes

How do you go about trying to identify the bacteria?

1 Like

Interesting question, given that cultivating a sample is the way to ID most bacteria. Good luck finding a single one on a surface to observe…

I think it would be reasonable to post an observation of a bacterium cultured from a surface with the date/time that the swab was taken and notes that make it clear the observation is intended to be for the original bacterium/a swabbed. I’d also leave notes/comment explaining what you did and why. Even then, you might get some honest disagreements in the DQA voting, but I think bacteria are such a small part of iNat that it isn’t a major issue.

7 Likes

I don’t think an environmental isolate that was cultured in a lab for characterization purposes would be considered “cultivated”; if it’s a strain of E.coli that’s cultivated for lab use that you ordered on the internet that would definitely be a captive obs.

4 Likes