Biology politics, report local species threats find local support

I’m a biologist and spend most of my time like everyone else here. Taking photos, getting IDs. But now and then I come across a situation where my contribution to public comments on an EIR/EIS might save a population that would otherwise be bulldozed. Yes, I’m in that situation now… sort of, We lost a bat colony in Los Angeles when a warehouse was bulldozed over a year ago. Now it could happen again and the project got all the way to the EIR level without any biological studies because as it stated, there’s no habitat here, it’s urban. I know there’s lots of i-naturalists in Urban LA. How can I find the ones who would care about this and speak up for the bats?
Ideas?
Could we create a topic just for people who find themselves in a similar situation?
A place where we could find out things specific to our area so we could chime in or find out about the little local issues we care about… not just the big ones that we get in our mail asking for money but the local matters where our individual voices could actually make a difference?

10 Likes

I looked up the top IDers of bats in LA county (https://www.inaturalist.org/observations?place_id=962&taxon_id=40268&view=identifiers) and looked for any somewhat local/professional ones. No one that seems to be based in LA, but dcstokes based in San Diego and (https://www.inaturalist.org/people/dcstokes) and krysta (https://www.inaturalist.org/people/krysta) based in TX, might be worth asking if they have some ideas (totally based just on me searching, I know nothing about them or even bats!).

3 Likes

Thanks so much for speaking up for the bats–I’m grateful to know they have an advocate.

Is the project asking for expert opinion or public comment? And is it necessary that the comments come from LA?

4 Likes

Another possible starting point is to look at some of the authors of recent papers about bats from academics in LA. For example this search