Citizen Science Survey about dragonfly/damselfly observing - Please Contribute!

Hello!

I am a doctorate student at Kent State University and I’m interested in researching reporting trends in Odonata (dragonflies and damselflies) citizen science data.

When people report observations to citizen science databases, they must make decisions about what (and whether) they will submit as data. The choices people make about what is most important can affect the patterns that are recorded with citizen science approaches. This could have significant implications for conservation efforts for these insects, which frequently utilize citizen science observations in determining the presence and/or absence of certain species. The purpose of this study is to examine how people’s impressions of insects with different physical characteristics affect the data that is reported.

Please consider contributing to my survey by clicking the link below:

[Survey is Under Revision]

Please email me at cbullion@kent.edu if you have any questions.

Thank you!

EDIT: Thank you for the responses; If you are having difficulty selecting between the images, please click the frame near the image itself. Sorry about that!

*Survey link removed at the request of OP

4 Likes

Done! :+1:

To anyone taking this survey, don’t click on the pictures themselves but the area immediately around. Took me a minute to figure that out.

With the survey, I would suggest 2 other considerations: 1 how mobile is that species, for me if the individual doesn’t land, I am more likely to giveup trying to get a shot of it. Anax junius is one that I hate in this group.

2 How easy is it to separate species from photos. In one of your example pairs was a male vs female Sympetrum, I would sometimes skip both if I already had a Sympetrum photographed.

6 Likes

Hello, can users under 18 do the survey? Or would you prefer that we just don’t participate?

1 Like